Area resident to receive honorary doctorate at BPC graduation Saturday

MOUNT VERNON - Two-hundred two Brewton-Parker College students will receive their diplomas Saturday, May 8, during commencement exercises in the newly named Bartow and Jean Snooks Student Activities Center.

The ceremony in Gillis Gymnasium celebrating the academic accomplishments of this year's graduating class begins at 10 a.m.

Bartow SnooksAn honorary doctorate will be awarded posthumously to lifelong Ailey resident Bartow Snooks, a 1935 graduate of Brewton-Parker Institute, and David Barton, an author and historian from Aledo, Texas, will provide the keynote commencement address.

The honorary doctor of humane letters degree will be presented to the Snooks family in the center named for Bartow and Jean Snooks during Brewton-Parker's Centennial Celebration on April 28.

Snooks died on Feb. 8 at age 84, shortly after the BPC Board of Trustees elected to award him an honorary doctorate. Bartow and Jean Snooks, who were married for more than 56 years before his passing, were selected as Brewton-Parker's Alumni of the Year for 1993.

In 2003, Snooks made a significant gift toward the construction costs of the college's Student Activities Center, which opened in 2002 and was dedicated in April 2003.

David BartonBarton is the founder and president of WallBuilders, a national pro-family organization that distributes historical, legal, and statistical information, and helps citizens become active in their local schools and communities. WallBuilders seeks to energize the grassroots today to rebuild that which makes America strong -- its constitutional, moral, and religious foundations.

Barton's exhaustive research (from original writings) on the Founding Era has rendered him an expert in this field, and consequently he serves as consultant to state and federal legislators, has participated in several cases at the Supreme Court; was involved in the development of the history/social studies standards for both Texas and California students; and has contributed to projects and legislation set forth by countless other groups, individuals and legislators across the country.

Barton is the author of numerous works and this information has been directly implemented to redefine the original intent of our Founding Fathers in the areas of faith and family.
Barton's education includes a bachelor of arts degree from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Okla., and an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from Pensacola (Fla.) Christian College. He has been recipient of several national and international awards, including several Angel Awards, a Dove Award, and Telly Awards for excellence in media and educational medium, Who's Who in Education and the George Washington Honor Medal.

Barton and his wife, Cheryl, have three grown children, Damaris, Timothy, and Stephen.

Graduation for students in external programs is planned for May 8 at 6 p.m. at the First Baptist Church in Hinesville. Dr. John Waters, vice president for enrollment services at Brewton-Parker, will provide the keynote address at that ceremony.

Brewton-Parker will present 202 diplomas to graduates during Saturday's ceremonies. The 155 graduates on the Mount Vernon campus are:

Elise Lynn Addison, Karen A. Ashley, Charlie Bradley, Kara Alston Carter, Grace Helen James Dawkins, Catharine Farnsworth DeLoach, Joy J. Ducree-Evans, Marsha Renee Dyer, Jason Ford, Dale Robert Frank, Melanie Dale Gardner, Christie Ross Garrett, Melissa Renee Godbee, Lyndsay Holly Gomme, Travis Lamar Graham, Shelia J. Hall, Kelly-Anne Hamilton, Brandi Melissa Womack Harvey, Annie Laurie Hession, Chandler Griffin Horne, James Anthony Jay, Brent Nelson Kennedy, Melanie E. Kirby, Sallie Kirkland, Keely Miranda Kump, Ross Isaac Lewis, Jessica Dee Lowery, Michael Ryan Lyons, Allen Wayne McCall, Leslie Katrina McDaniel, Jeffrey Wade McGhee, Christina Montford, Michael Ted Moody Jr., Jeremy D. Morton, Jaime A. Murrant, Richard Kyle Nelson, Jonathon M. Pryor, Johnnie Mae Reddish, Amy Marie Rentz, Kimberly Gail Reynolds, Catherine Vaughan Smith, Jarvis Lamont Smith, Michelle Varnadoe Stinson, Michelle Rose Stokes, Mark A. Taylor, Rodney D. Thomas, Janie Marie Towns, Lance Allen Wade, Victor Keith Wade, Valencia LaSha Walker and Carla Luane Wilson

Nicole L. Behning, Robert Christopher Coker, Mindy Yvonne Cooper, Kevin L. Dean, Karla Leigh Griffin, Sharon Kathy Long Griggs, Jessica L. James, J. Wesley Moore, Jeffery Ryan O'Conner, Jenifer Leigh Paul, James Lester Salter Jr., Coledia Monique Collins Skipper, David Freeman Smith, Garrett Dale Smith, Hector Bienvenido Solano, Thomas Neal Weaver and Richard Miles Zachary

Susan Smith Adams

David Neal Symons

Patricia Darlene Connell Bailey, Melissa Bush Barrow, Brandie A. Bennett, Lauri Jo Griffin Bennett, Lora Hill Boatwright, Lisa Dawn Boyd, Julie Sasser Caraballo, William Gregory Carroll, Tina Louise Clay, Heather Senters Clegg, Edric Keimardi Clyde, Amy Elizabeth Cox, Stacey M. Davis, Christy Lyn Denison, Deborah Lynn Dent, Donna Joanna Spires Dixon, Sandra Tralane Farrow, Dana Deree Flowers, Jennifer P. Glass, Leslie Allison Harper, Karen L. Hinton-Fett, Angela Ann Howard, Norma Joan Howell, Derek Gregory James, Glenda Griffin Jernigan, Donna Johns, Lee Ann Jones, Joyce Ann Kennedy, Dana Goode King, William Lanier Maybin, Shannon Suzanne McGonigal, Angela Beth Glass Meadows, Kelli L. Merritt, Whittney Anne Moody, Ashley Michelle Morris, Jessica L. Nicholson, Shelley Marie Parker, Brenda Gail Pittman, Robbie Joyce Rentz, Gerald Wallace Salter, Lara Salter, Kendra Leann Sewell, Kendra Leann Sewell, Melanie Paige Shiver-Thaggard, Debra J. Sider, Monica Jennifer Squires, Courtney Leigh Thompson, Kyle M. Thrift, Valerie Gale Toole, Debra S. Ussery, Stephanie Dawn West, Dusty Logan Williams, Kimberly Janene Womack, Melissa Wanda Yancey and Teresa Ann Willis Yancey

Scott Larimore Crockett, Kirk Russell Evans, Robyn O. Evans, Mary Beth Gordon, Stephine A. Hart, Damond J. Holiday, Rodney G. Holloway, Jennifer Lynn Hull, Gloriela M. Hunter, Althea Melita Huston, Evelene B. Hutchinson, Krista Johnson, Joni Michelle Spires Lester, Jessica Nicole McFarland, Eloisa Moger, Kristi Lynne Morris, Nancy Norman, Sunny Norman, Abby Alisha O'Quinn, Alex Brooks Passailaigue, Rebekah Lyn Russell, Tiny Kicklighter Russell, Kelly F. Shipes, Barbara L. Starks, Deidra Stone, Natascha Rhetta Strange, Charles Clinton Taylor, Gina Vaye Groover Waters, Joseph Stephen Watkins and Mary Susannah Weaver

The 47 graduates of external programs are:

Terrie Leola Tofa'ile'ava Alderson, Dana Leigh Beasley, Laura Logyn Butler, Debra Ann Taylor Bynum, Syreeta Quillion Doomes, Kelli Denise Futch Foster, Meredith Katherine Gary, Susan D. Gregory, Tawanna Mishelle Hudson, Melissa Ann Maulden, Veronica Regina Russell, Kesi DeNedra Shaw, Charise Kimberly Stanton and Nicole A. Weesner

Jeffrey Dewitt Anderson, Neal J. Anderson, James Craig Brewer, Audrey M. Osby, Russell Allen Rambo, Shannon R. Rivera, Jeremy Michael Stenmark, Mark Anthony Strickland and Pamela J. Tindell

Lisa Arthurs, Tammy Ann Bellew, Anita Marie Schluter Brayley, Shavonya Dionne Coleman, Kristie Lynn Davis, Dwayne Herring, DeLois Williams Jones, Melinda Parsons Jones, Lauren Elizabeth Lange, Jeremy A. Meadows, Jo Ann Howser Moody, LaKesha Renee Powell, LaToya Michelle Semple, Amanda D. Waters and Buffy Lynn White

Debbie R. Brannen, Shakeisha Nicole Brantley, Sherry R. Green, Kesha Lynn Lee, Celeste R. Miller, Sarah L. Oldham, Willie Ruth Price, Sandra Laverne Smalls and Christiana Ann Wolff