Brewton-Parker employees honored at appreciation dinner

MOUNT VERNON -- Two Brewton-Parker College employees were named winners of annual awards, two others were recognized for their nearing retirements and 21 received service awards at the faculty and staff appreciation dinner April 24 in the Phillips Student Center cafeteria.

Dr. Doug Weaver, the Barney Averitt professor of Christianity, was selected by faculty and staff as the Bryan E. Rampey Faculty Member of the Year. The honor was named for Bryan Rampey, an associate professor of Spanish who died as the result of a March 23 auto accident in Johnson County.

Keith Rudolph, a programmer and analyst in Brewton-Parker's information services department, was selected as the Staff Member of the Year.

Dr. Bowman Barr, professor of education and director of professional lab experiences, and Registrar Carol Boyd were recognized by Dr. David Smith, Brewton-Parker's president, for their services in the eve of their approaching retirements.

Among the recognized employees reaching five-year intervals of service was Ray Hamilton, director of plant operations, for his 25 years at the college.

Barr, Forrest Rich and Kenneth Wickstrom received 15-year awards.

Receiving 10-year awards were: Mary Ann Birris, Larry Byrd, Deborah Conner, James Ford, Catherine Hendricks, Elizabeth Hughes, Barbara Keel, Toby O'Neal, Dr. Jerry Ray, Pat Weaver and Dr. Javad Zadeh.

Recipients of five-year awards were: Carolyn Brantley, Dianne Coleman, Dr. Sid Johnson, Mary Jones, Karen Purvis and Rosalie Selph.


Dr. Doug Weaver

Keith Rudolph