Brewton-Parker College: A Private Christian/Baptist College located in Southeast Georgia Brewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & Information


Faculty, staff honored at banquet

Mariam George

Dr. Ron Melton, Provost, presents Dr. Mariam George with a plaque for her 25 years of service to BPC as an employee. Dr. George is a professor of biology in the Division of Mathematics and Natural Sciences. (Photos by Mandy Corbin)


By Kelley M. Arnold

Director of News & Public Information

MOUNT VERNON –Brewton-Parker College held a Faculty-Staff Banquet to honor and show appreciation to its employees Thursday, April 22 in the Cyber Café inside the Phillips Student Center.


This annual banquet is a time to announce retirements and to recognize those achieving notable years of service to the College.


Sheila Simmosn
Athletic Director Sheila Simmons is presented the Bryan E. Rampey Faculty Member of the Year Award by Dr. Ron Melton, BPC Provost.

The following employees, with their department/division following in parenthesis, were awarded with special recognitions: Claire Johnson (College Advancement), retirement; Five years of service: Prof. Thomas Brucie (Arts & Letters), Prof. Brian Cribb (Religion and Philosophy; 10 Years: Prof. David McMillan (Mathematics and Natural Sciences), Karen Mock (Business Office), Dr. Ruth Ellen Porter (Arts & Letters), Robert Sanford (Office of the Provost), Pauline Whitaker (Business Office).


Fifteen years: James Beall (Enrollment Services), Dr. Glenn Eernisse (Music), Dr. Bill Faw (Office of the Provost); 20 years: Dr. Harry Bayne (Arts & Letters), Prof. Sherra Durden (Mathematics and Natural Sciences), Ann Turner (Library); and, 25 years: Dr. Mariam George (Mathematics and Natural Sciences).


Special Awards were also presented to the staff and faculty member who were selected for the honor by a vote of their peers. The Bryan E. Rampey Faculty Member of the Year Award was presented to Athletic Director Sheila Simmons. Joey Russell, assistant coach of the Barons Baseball team, was presented the Staff Member of the Year Award.


The college’s newest employees were also introduced to the BPC Family. They include Marla Beebe (Library), Bernard Irvin (Admissions), Michael Dye (Men’s Soccer), Nikki Jones (Business Office), Ryan Relihan (Information Services), Dr. Susan White (Education), Norman Winter (College Advancement).


The banquet was catered by ARAMARK. Prof. Forrest Rich gave the invocation and Simmons gave the benediction. The BPC Hospitality Committee provided the decorations for the banquet.


Brewton-Parker College is the only accredited four-year Christian college in south Georgia.



Brewton-Parker College News & Information
Brewton-Parker College | Located on U.S. 280 at 201 David-Eliza Fountain Circle, P. O. Box 197, Mount Vernon, GA 30445
with a site in Newnan
912-583-2241, 1-800-342-1087
Get directions to the main campus.
Contact Technology Services if you have any comments, questions or issues.

The mission of Brewton-Parker College, a Georgia Baptist college, is to develop the whole student through the application of Biblically-centered truth to a liberal arts curriculum in a community of shared Christian values.
Brewton-Parker College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brewton-Parker College.
Updated on: May 6, 2010 4:24 PM