Brewton-Parker College: A Private Christian/Baptist College located in Southeast Georgia Brewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & Information

Home / News and Information /

BPC’s Education Division honors 21 teacher candidates


Education Division honors 21 teacher candidates
Dr. Bowman Barr (center), chair of Brewton-Parker College’s Education Division, and Randy Rodgers, principal of Montgomery County Elementary School (right) are pictured with several of the teacher candidates honored at an Education Division Advisory Council luncheon Dec. 11. Standing from left are Jala Bohannon of Hazlehurst, Selena Griffin of Baxley, Aimee Knight of Vidalia, Dr. Barr, Keitha Broomfield of Vidalia, Sonja Craft of Uvalda and Rodgers. Rodgers, who taught several of the students as an adjunct faculty member at Brewton-Parker, says, “I’m tickled they have done as well as they have. They’ll make good teachers, every last one of them.” (Photo by Kelley Arnold)

MOUNT VERNON—Brewton-Parker College’s Division of Education honored 21 teacher candidates, or student teachers, from the fall 2006 semester during a biannual Education Division Advisory Council luncheon Dec. 11 on the Mount Vernon campus.

These candidates are awaiting final approval for certification by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission and have finished their education major requirements.

Those candidates who finished their education major requirements on the Mount Vernon campus, and who live in Toombs, Montgomery, Jeff Davis, Wayne and Baldwin counties, are Ashley Williamson, Blair Burris, Melissa Donahue, Shelby Ashfield, Aimee Kight, Keitha Broomfield, Latisha Collins, Jala Bohannon, Sonja Craft, Selena Griffin, Julia Goedert, Samantha Spradley and Donna Sutton. Those from the Norman Park campus, and who are from Colquitt and Tift counties, are Shawna Rae Donald, Melinda Chambless, Stephanie Estes, Cynthia Hurst, Christy Hall, Nan Tillman, Melonie Kimbrell and Brandi Boyd.

Preceding the luncheon, the advisory council met in the Holliman-Fountain Education Center with council president, Dr. Melba S. Claxton presiding. The council discussed the Education Division’s programs and plans for the coming spring semester.

According to Dr. Claxton, the Education Division is in the process of program approval from the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (PSC). Dr. Bowman Barr, Education Division chair, gave an update of the teams’ combined on-site visit, Sept. 30 through Oct. 4. The visit included examination of all three Brewton-Parker College education centers: Mount Vernon campus, Liberty County Education Center and Norman Park Education Center.


“The Education Division has gained valuable feedback and insight concerning the strengths of the unit and its needs to become even better,” said Dr. Barr.

The advisory council members gave input on how improvements can be made and assured their cooperation with the education division, Dr. Claxton added.

The council is composed of 20 members of the surrounding counties’ public education systems, one Education Division student representative and eight full-time education faculty members at the college’s Mount Vernon and Liberty County campuses. The council meets twice a year, in conjunction with the luncheon to honor each semester’s student teachers.

Those attending the council meeting from public school systems in the surrounding area included: Dr. Darrel May, Jeff Davis County Director of Instruction; Charles Ellington Jr., Treutlen County Superintendent of Schools; Patricia Storey, Treutlen County Schools’ special education teacher; Dr. Tim Smith, Vidalia City Schools Superintendent; Randy Rodgers, Montgomery County Elementary School principal; Rachelle Stapleton, secondary education teacher in the Vidalia City School system and an alumna of Brewton-Parker; Dr. Pam Johnson, teacher at Appling County Middle School.

Local education faculty and administrators in attendance included Dr. Charline Robinson, coordinator of Off-Campus Education Programs; Dr. Noel Carroll, retired coordinator of Off-Campus Education Programs; professors Dr. Norma Harper, Pat Mercer, Skye Jordan and Dr. Melba S. Claxton; and division chair, Dr. Bowman Barr.



Brewton-Parker College News & Information
Brewton-Parker College | Located on U.S. 280 at 201 David-Eliza Fountain Circle, P. O. Box 197, Mount Vernon, GA 30445
with a site in Newnan
912-583-2241, 1-800-342-1087
Get directions to the main campus.
Contact Technology Services if you have any comments, questions or issues.

The mission of Brewton-Parker College, a Georgia Baptist college, is to develop the whole student through the application of Biblically-centered truth to a liberal arts curriculum in a community of shared Christian values.
Brewton-Parker College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brewton-Parker College.
Updated on: April 15, 2010 8:26 PM