Brewton-Parker College: A Private Christian/Baptist College located in Southeast Georgia Brewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & Information

Home / News and Information / April 2006 / BPC Students Honored for Academic Achievements

BPC Students Honored for Academic Achievements

Taylor Hereford
BPC Director of Marketing

At some point during the career of any college student, in the midst of pulling “all nighters” to complete papers, or studying for all of the tests that have to be taken, this inevitable question more than likely rises to the surface.

“When will all of this hard work pay off?”

For students at Brewton-Parker College, the answer not only comes at graduation when diplomas are received, but for some the annual Honors Day ceremony is a chance to be rewarded for efforts made throughout the academic year.

The biggest group of recipients at this year’s ceremony was the Dean’s Scholars. These students were named to the Dean’s List for five of the last seven semesters. Those receiving the title of Dean’s Scholar were Pamela T. Baird, Rebecca Barnes, Amy D. Blanton, Jill Brown, Charles Michael Canup, Krista Stone Carter, Mary Angelia Davis, Stephanie Rebecca Estes, Keith J. Flowers, Joshua E. Harrison, Vandowyn De’Mign, Wendy A. Johnson, Michelle L. McRaven, Jayme Lynn Mehnert, Rachel Melita Milton, Malissa Kate Phillips, Allen Micahel Rea, Shelly Elyse Rentz, Debra Lynn Richardson, John Edward Ryan, Jhonda Ann Sparks, Kristan Marie Tillman, Nan M. Tillman, Jill L. Vinning, April Sloan Warren, Kent D. Wilkinson and Michael Shane Womack.

The Conrad-Shelby Academic Achievement Award was presented by Dr. Ron Melton to April Sloan Warren.

Michelle McRaven was presented with the Athletic Award by BPC Athletic Director Steve Barker.

Dr. Dean Williamson presented two business awards; one for management and one for information systems. The Business Award for Management was presented to Zachary Petee while Heather Purvis received the Business Award for Information Systems.

The Communications Award was presented to Andrew G. Garner by Dr. Don Wallace.

Professor Mark Stokes presented the Drama Award to Jacob Knighton.

The Sigma Tau Delta English Language Award was presented to Jeremy Gore by Dr. Ruth Ellen Porter.

Vicky Conner received the Foreign Language Award from Professor James Bell.

The History Award was presented by Dr. Larry Toll to April Sloan Warren.

Dr. Don Wallace presented the International Student Award to Avianne Tobias.

Sherrie Helms, Dean of Students at Brewton-Parker, presented two awards for leadership; one in Student Affairs and the other for Student Service to the College. The Leadership in Student Affairs Award was presented to Jeffrey Tinsley. Andrew Garner received the Leadership in Student Service to the College Award.

Ashley Brown-Little was presented with the Math Award by Dr. Marvin McClendon.

Dr. Glenn Eernisse presented the Music Award to Theresa Beverly.

The Outstanding Future Teacher Award was presented to Jill Brown by Dr. Bowman Barr.

The Pi Gamma Mu Award was presented by Professor Vance Rhoades to Jared Morris.

Lindsey Bankston received the Political Science Award from Dr. Lee Cheek.

Professor Vance Rhoades presented the Psychology Award to Gary Michael Clements.

Three awards for religious studies were presented by Dr. Hal Ostrander. April Sloan Warren received the Outstanding Ministry/Christianity Student Award. There was a tie for the Religious Leadership Award as Michael Brown and Jason Jones both were recipients. The Religious Service Award was presented to Kara Mixon.

The Richard B. Russell Award, which is sponsored by the General Richard Montgomery Chapter of the Daughters of the American Colonists, was presented by Dr. Larry Toll to Courtney Payne.

Dr. Jon Shuman presented the Science Award to Sandra Hall.

The Brewton-Parker College Student Government Association presented two awards honoring a member of the faculty and an academic division within the college. Newly inducted SGA President Luther Caraway presented the Outstanding Teacher Award to Dr. Lee Cheek. The Outstanding College Division Award this year was presented to Religion & Philosophy.

Josh Hartley, Assistant to the Dean of Students, presented the Organizational Service Award to the BPC Film Society.

Rick Jordan, representing the Mount Vernon Bank, presented the first ever Mount Vernon Bank Writing Fellowship Award to Regina Wood.

The final award of the ceremony, the Jordan Teaching Excellence Award, was presented by Dr. Ron Melton to Dr. Larry Toll.

Brewton-Parker College News & Information
Brewton-Parker College | Located on U.S. 280 at 201 David-Eliza Fountain Circle, P. O. Box 197, Mount Vernon, GA 30445
with a site in Newnan
912-583-2241, 1-800-342-1087
Get directions to the main campus.
Contact Technology Services if you have any comments, questions or issues.

The mission of Brewton-Parker College, a Georgia Baptist college, is to develop the whole student through the application of Biblically-centered truth to a liberal arts curriculum in a community of shared Christian values.
Brewton-Parker College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brewton-Parker College.
Updated on: April 15, 2010 8:26 PM